Are You Facing Drug Possession Charges?
Although drug possession may not seem a serious crime on the surface, Michigan law imposes severe penalties for these offenses. In fact, the penalties could include life in prison or fines of up to $1,000,000. But that is not the end of it. The impact of a drug conviction on your future can be far-reaching. You may face suspension of your driver’s license or major fines. The effects of a drug crime conviction can linger negatively in your life for many years, even after you have completed your sentence or paid your fines and costs.
You should never leave such charges to chance. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to start building a strong defense. Attorney Christopher Sinclair helps clients throughout the Detroit metro area fight their criminal charges, and he can help you, too.
Understanding The Drug Schedule
Michigan’s law contains a schedule for different types of drugs, laying out the penalties for various amounts of possession. These include:
- Schedule I: The most serious drugs have a high potential for abuse with little or no medical use. They include heroin, LSD and Ecstasy.
- Schedule II: These drugs have a high potential for abuse, but do have some medical use. Examples include cocaine, morphine and oxycodone.
- Schedule III: This level contains drugs with moderate risk of abuse coupled with regular medical use, such as hydrocodone and Ketamine.
- Schedule IV: These drugs have a lower risk for abuse, but still need regulation. They include Xanax, Valium and Rohypnol.
- Schedule V: These over-the-counter medications have a low risk, but still need monitoring. They include cold medicine with ephedrine and cough medicine with codeine.
The law tiers the amounts in grams or ounces, depending on the type of drug at issue. Penalties depend on how much of the particular drug you had in your possession. For example, most schedule I and schedule II drugs of between 25 and 50 grams result in a felony with a penalty of up to 4 years in prison and/or $25,000 in fines. For first time offenders, the court may suspend their sentences and allow them to serve only probation.
A Note On Marijuana Possession
Although you may now possess a small amount of marijuana for your personal use in Michigan, you may not have more than 2.5 ounces on your person or 10 ounces in your home. If you have slightly more than that, the prosecutor may still only pursue a misdemeanor charge against you. In addition, you may not grow or sell marijuana.
Start Building Your Defense Today
The sooner you start building your defense, the better the outcome you can expect. Contact Sinclair Law right away to get started. Attorney Sinclair offers free, no-obligation consultations and both virtual and in-person meetings. Call 877-795-9288 or send a confidential email to schedule your appointment.